Skip to content

eTruck Night delivers, Zack Novak takes the victory at Atlanta

Zack Novak took the victory in eTruck Series Night in America powered by Filter Time at Atlanta Motor Speedway on March 19th, 2020. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

The eTruck Series Night in America hype has been building for almost a full week.

A simple tweet, a simple question, and a simple answer.


Up-and-coming NASCAR star, Ryan Vargas, showed off his “Race Promoter” skills in a time where the real world action sits sidelined due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Vargas was able to attract sponsors, such as Filter Time, to sign on to endorse the event.

Podium eSports would call the event on the iRacing Twitch channel, with Hailie Deegan and Davey Segal as guest hosts alongside Podium’s James Pike.

Big names, including a handful of eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series drivers, real world drivers, and community influencers, were signed up to race.

The night was to be run to benefit the National Craniofacial Association (FACES) and Cranio Care Bears, a cause close to Vargas, as he was born with Craniosynostosis.

The eventual winner would also be able to take a prize of $200 and send it to the charity of their choice, courtesy of Carolina Sim Works and World Wide Technology.

Zack Novak (90) leads at Atlanta Motor Speedway on March 19th, 2020. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

That winner would be the 2019 eNASCAR iRacing champ himself, Zack Novak.

Novak held off a late charge from Jake Nichols to take the win in the inaugural eTruck event, lasting against challenges from fellow eNASCAR pros such as Ray Alfalla, Eric J. Smith, and Michael Conti.

“We had a really, really good truck the whole time,” Novak said to Jacob Seelman in Barr Visuals Victory Lane. “Surprisingly, honestly, I didn’t expect to be that good. I had to come through the field all the way in the mid-twenties. Shades of the other night.”

A scheduled 100 laps at Atlanta Motor Speedway went a little extra after two attempts at Overtime.

Conti started on the pole position, and led a good portion of the beginning of the race.

Christian Eckes, of Kyle Busch Motorsports fame, took over command for a bit, taking the lead from iRacing Road-to-Pro Truck Series newcomer, Donovan Strauss.

Michael P Frisch (58) and Jake Fisher (84) thread the needle through a late race caution at Atlanta Motor Speedway on March 19th, 2020. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Max Brady, Alfalla, Michael P. Frisch, and Nichols all took turns leading before Novak took control at lap 65.

A few cautions towards the end set up a battle to the finish. Smith took control after the final round of pit stops, but Novak was determined to get it back sooner than later.

Novak made the move to the outside on Smith, and the two battled closely, side-by-side, for a handful of laps. Eventually, Novak got the better of Smith, and began to pull away.

A caution coming to two laps to go, the field stacked back up for a shot at overtime.

In fact, it ended up as two overtime attempts, but at the end of it all, Novak held on, holding off a late charge from Nichols.

Zack Novak at Atlanta Motor Speedway on March 19th, 2020. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

In total, the race saw nine cautions for 36 laps. Nine drivers led at one point, with the lead switching hands ten times through the 109 lap event.


  1. Zack Novak
  2. Jake Nichols
  3. Ray Alfalla
  4. Max R Brady
  5. Oliver Cordell
  6. Jacob Fisher
  7. Michael P Frisch
  8. Eric J. Smith
  9. Tyler Garey
  10. Michael Conti
  11. Carson S. Hocevar
  12. Colton Salek
  13. Jarrett Liebert
  14. Elliott Henderson
  15. Kyle Riley
  16. John Theodore
  17. Mike Rasimas
  18. Adam Baker
  19. Matt H Wishart
  20. Ruben Garcia
  21. Josh Bilicki
  22. Brian Mercurio
  23. Nick Miller
  24. Gary Sexton
  25. Chris DeShong
  26. Reece Baham
  27. Leighton B Sibille
  28. Brad Perez
  29. Nick DeGroot
  30. Parker Kligerman
  31. Daylon M Barr
  32. Austin H Blair
  33. Joey Stone
  34. Connor Hall
  35. Kenny Brady
  36. Chase Cabre
  37. Rajah Caruth
  38. Ryan Truex
  39. Jerry Brown
  40. Christian Eckes
  41. Ty Gibbs
  42. Max Mclaughlin
  43. Donovan Strauss


Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

One thought on “eTruck Night delivers, Zack Novak takes the victory at Atlanta Leave a comment

Leave a Reply