Skip to content

Hill joins Stewart, others as first-time NXS winners at Daytona

Photo: Justin Melillo/TRE

DAYTONA BEACH, FLA. – Austin Hill became the 7th driver to earn his first NASCAR Xfinity Series win at Daytona.

Hill led 23 laps and took the lead for the fourth and winning time on the final lap of Saturday’s NXS Beef. It’s What’s For Dinner 300. Hill passed A.J. Allmendinger for the win.

Hill became the 7th driver to earn their first NASCAR Xfinity Series win at Daytona and the 3rd first-time winner in the last 4 February NXS races at Daytona.

Chad Little (Feb. 1995), Tony Stewart (Feb. 2005), James Buescher (Feb. 2012), Ryan Reed (Feb. 2015), Michael Annett (Feb. 2019) and Noah Gragson (Feb. 2020) are the previous first-time NASCAR Xfinity Series winners at Daytona.

Chad Little earned five more NXS wins in 1995 but never won again in his NASCAR career – despite racing two more full-time NXS seasons and four full-time Cup seasons after the win.

Austin Hill is the first driver to virtually lock into the 2022 NASCAR Xfinity Series playoffs. 2022 is the second consecutive season where a Richard Childress Racing car qualified for the NXS playoffs.

Erick Messer/The Racing Experts


Leave a Reply