Skip to content

Kyle Larson ties three drivers on all-time poles list

SONOMA, Calif. — For the third year in a row, Kyle Larson will lead the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series field to the green flag in the Toyota/Save Mart 350.

Larson posted a lap time of 94.784 seconds (95.712 mph), good enough to earn his first pole of the 2018 season and the eighth of his career.

Kyle Larson 2019 Sonoma Raceway
Photo by Jeff Ames/TRE

“It’s cool to get a third pole in a row here at my home track,” Larson said.

“Thanks to Credit One Bank and all my guys for preparing another fast car. We’ll see if we can do a little better tomorrow than we typically do during the race.”

Larson is now tied with Paul Goldsmith, Kyle Petty and Elliott Sadler on the all-time poles list at 73rd overall.

The next Darel Dieringer, A.J. Foyt, Jeremy Mayfield, and Juan Pablo Montoya,

William Byron will start second after posting a lap of 94.827 seconds (95.669 mph). It is the Hendrick Motorsports driver’s eighth top-five start of 2019.

Joey Logano, Chase Elliott and Daniel Suarez rounded out the top-five starters.

2018 Sonoma winner Martin Truex Jr. qualified eighth.

Reed Sorenson was the only driver to not post a qualifying run. He will start 38th.

The Toyota/Save Mart 350 will be televised live on FOX Sports 1 Sunday (June 23) at 3 p.m. ET.

Team Chevrolet

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply