Skip to content

Logano bumps Byron late, Byron still returns to No. 1 seed

DARLINGTON, SOUTH CAROLINA – MAY 08: Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Shell Pennzoil Ford, celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Cup Series Goodyear 400 at Darlington Raceway on May 08, 2022 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by Emilee Chinn/Getty Images)

DARLINGTON, S.C. — Joey Logano bumped his way into the No. 3 seed as he moved William Byron to win Sunday’s Goodyear 400 at Darlington Raceway.

Logano picked up six more playoff points for winning the race and stage two while also putting himself in position for five more playoff points as he moved from ninth to fourth in the regular-season points.

With two laps to go, Logano bumped Byron in turn three and pulled away for the win. Logano won after leading 107 laps, the most of any driver Sunday.

Byron had led 24 laps but faded late before Logano bumped him, causing Byron to hit the wall and finish 13th.

After the race, Byron and Logano had a distinct disagreement.

Logano said, “You’re not gonna put me in the wall and not expect to get something back,” to Byron who responded by saying, “He’s just an idiot, he does this stuff all the time. He drove in there 10 MPH too fast and slammed me,” as they were each interviewed by FS1.

DARLINGTON, SOUTH CAROLINA – MAY 08: William Byron, driver of the #24 Axalta Chevrolet, drives during the NASCAR Cup Series Goodyear 400 at Darlington Raceway on May 08, 2022 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images)

Still, Byron earned 11 stage points for finishing sixth and fifth in the stages and moved ahead of Ryan Blaney for second in the regular-season points. Byron is now in a position to earn 10 playoff points, in addition to the 13 playoff points he’s secured with his two race wins and three stage wins.

Ross Chastain held onto the No. 3 seed as he earned a playoff point for winning stage two, which netted him 10 stage points for the regular-season points.

Chastain also earned nine stage points in stage one which helped move him to fifth in the regular-season points standings and into a position to earn one more playoff point.

Chastain accomplished all of this despite scoring a DNF and a 30th-place finish after a Lap 196 restart wreck exiting turn two while battling for the lead.

Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

Erik Jones was involved in the other restart wreck, a Lap 262 multi-car wreck while running in the top-10. Jones finished 25th with a DNF after finishing eighth and sixth in stages one and two.

Despite earning no stage points Sunday, Austin Dillon survived the attrition and finished ninth. The top-10 finish allowed him to take the playoff spot from Jones.

Dillon is now five points ahead of Jones and one point ahead of teammate Tyler Reddick, who finished second to Logano in Sunday’s race and is the first driver outside the playoffs for now.

DARLINGTON, SOUTH CAROLINA – MAY 08: Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Shell Pennzoil Ford, leads the field to the green flag to start he NASCAR Cup Series Goodyear 400 at Darlington Raceway on May 08, 2022 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by Emilee Chinn/Getty Images)

Below is how the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs would be seeded if they started today.

Seeding is based on regular-season points standing (15 for 1st, 10 for 2nd, 8 for 3rd, 7 for 4th, 6 for 5th, 5 for 6th, 4 for 7th, 3 for 8th, 2 for 9th, 1 for 10th) race wins (five points per win) and stage wins (one point per stage win).

DriverPlayoff Points TotalBase PointsPoints Position/PointsPoints for Race Wins (5 Pts/Win)Stage Wins (1 Pt/Win)
William Byron2023200010 (2nd)10 (Atlanta and Martinsville)3 (Talladega – Stage 2, Atlanta – Stage 1, Phoenix – Stage 1
Chase Elliott2022200015 (1st)5 (Dover)2 (Martinsville – Stages 1 & 2)
Ross Chastain201820006 (5th)10 (Talladega, COTA)2 (Darlington — Stage 2, Las Vegas – Stage 2)
Joey Logano201320007 (4th)5 (Darlington)1 (Darlington — Stage 1)
Ryan Blaney201220008 (3rd)4 (Dover – Stage 2, Richmond – Stage 1, Atlanta – Stage 2, Phoenix – Stage 2)
Kyle Busch201020005 (6th)5 (Bristol Dirt)
Alex Bowman200920003 (8th)5 (Las Vegas)1 (Las Vegas – Stage 1)
Kyle Larson200820002 (9th)5 (Auto Club)1 (Bristol Dirt)
Martin Truex Jr.200720004 (7th)3 (Daytona 500 –Stages 1 & 2, Richmond – Stage 2)
Denny Hamlin200720000 (22nd)5 (Richmond)2 (Dover – Stage 1, COTA – Stage 2)
Chase Briscoe200620000 (13th)5 (Phoenix)1 (Bristol Dirt)
Austin Cindric200520000 (18th)5 (Daytona 500)
Christopher Bell200120001 (10th)
Austin Dillon200020000 (14th)
Aric Almirola200020000 (12th)
Kevin Harvick200020000 (11th)
Below is how the NASCAR Cup Series regular-season standings are after Race No. 12, the Goodyear 400 at Darlington Raceway.
Regular Season Points PositionDriverPointsPoints Behind LeaderWins or points Ahead/behind for Playoff SpotPlayoff points or points behind/ahead of 30th
1Chase Elliott453LEADER1 win15 playoff points
2William Byron388-652 wins10 playoff points
3Ryan Blaney388-65(+102)8 playoff points
4Joey Logano374-791 win7 playoff points
5Ross Chastain364-892 wins6 playoff points
6Kyle Busch364-891 win5 playoff points
7Martin Truex Jr.364-89(+78)4 playoff points
8Alex Bowman357-961 win3 playoff points
9Kyle Larson336-1171 win2 playoff points
10Christopher Bell327-126(+41)1 playoff points
11Kevin Harvick313-140(+27)
12Aric Almirola311-142(+25)
13Chase Briscoe287-1661 win
14Austin Dillon287-166(+1)
15Tyler Reddick286-167(-1)
16Erik Jones282-171(-5)
17Daniel Suarez269-184(-18)
18Austin Cindric258-1951 win
19Chris Buescher251-202(-36)
20Justin Haley243-210(-44)
21Kurt Busch233-220(-54)
22Denny Hamlin231-2221 win
23Michael McDowell231-222(-56)
24Bubba Wallace225-228(-62)
25Ty Dillon205-248(-82)(+52)
26Cole Custer200-253(-87)(+47)
27Ricky Stenhouse Jr.198-255(-89)(+45)
28Todd Gilliland173-280(-114)(+20)
29Harrison Burton169-284(-118)(+16)
30Corey LaJoie161-292(-126)(+8)
31Brad Keselowski153-300(-134)(-8)
32Cody Ware109-344(-178)(-52)
Photo: Feliz Vigil/TRE

The next race for the NASCAR Cup Series is the May 15 Advent Health 400 at Kansas Speedway.

Last May, Kyle Busch picked up six playoff points for winning stage one and the overall race, while Kyle Larson won stage two and led a race-high 132 of 267 laps. Busch led 20 laps last May.

Leave a Reply