Skip to content

Multi-time road course winners still on the bubble entering The Glen

A pack of cars race up the hill at Watkins Glen International. Photo: Kyle Stephens | The Racing Experts

Of the 36 starters slated for Sunday’s Go Bowling at the Glen, there are 14 past NASCAR Cup Series road course winners.

Chase Elliott (7 wins)

Perhaps the “road course ace” of the active competition, Elliott has seven victories in 27 starts.

His seven wins include two apiece at Watkins Glen and the Charlotte Road Course — and a win at the Daytona Road Course, Circuit of the America and Road America each.

Elliott has 17 Top-10 finishes in 25 road course starts and a leading average finish of 7.8.

Martin Truex Jr. (5 wins)

Photo by Cheri Eaton/TRE

The 2017 series champion has 48 road course starts with an average finish of 14th.

Truex has won at Sonoma four times and Watkins Glen in 2017. He won at Sonoma in 2013, 2018, 2019 and 2023.

2 drivers with 4 wins

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson have scored four wins apiece on road courses.

Busch has won twice each at Sonoma and Watkins Glen — but hasn’t picked up a road course win since 2015.

Larson won at Watkins Glen races in 2021 and 2022. In 2021, he also won at Sonoma and the Charlotte Roval. 

Tyler Reddick (3 wins)

All but one of Reddick’s victories in the Cup Series have come on road courses.

He won at Road America and the Indianapolis Grand Prix Circuit in 2022 — and at Circuit of the Americas this season.

3 drivers with 2 wins

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

A.J. Allmendinger has collected victories at Watkins Glen (2014) and the Indianapolis Grand Prix Circuit (2021)

Christopher Bell won at the Daytona Road Course (2021) and the Charlotte Roval (2022).

Kevin Harvick, the 2014 series champion, won at Watkins Glen (2006) and Sonoma (2017). 

6 drivers with 1 win

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

Ryan Blaney’s lone road course win came at the inaugural Charlotte Roval race in 2018.

Ross Chastain’s win was at Circuit of the Americas in 2022. That was his first Cup Series win.

Denny Hamlin won at Watkins Glen in 2016.

Joey Logano won at Watkins Glen in 2015.

Michael McDowell is the series’ most recent road course winner, taking the victory last Sunday at the Indianapolis Grand Prix Circuit.

Daniel Suarez’s only Cup Series victory to date came at Sonoma Raceway in 2022.

The Go Bowling at The Glen is scheduled for Sunday at 3 p.m. ET. The race will be broadcast on USA Network, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply