Skip to content

NASCAR All-Star Race to be run at Bristol

2019 Bristol Motor Speedway pack shot stock photo
Melany Aylor/TRE

It’s official: The July 15 NASCAR All-Star Race will be moving from Charlotte Motor Speedway to Bristol Motor Speedway.

SMI President Marcus Smith made the announcement Monday night on NASCAR Race Hub that Bristol will be home to the All-Star Race for the first time, becoming only the third venue to host the race in its 35-year history.

“The NASCAR All-Star Race is an event known for making history, and we will enhance that legacy by hosting the event at Bristol Motor Speedway,” Smith said.

Bristol hosting the 2020 All-Star Race marks the first time since the 1986 All-Star Race at Atlanta Motor Speedway that Charlotte will not be hosting the event, ending a streak of 33 consecutive All-Star Races being run at Charlotte.

Harvick all star

The 2020 All-Star Race will also be notable for Bristol’s capability of having up to 30,000 people in attendance.

“While Charlotte will always be recognized as the birthplace and traditional home for the All-Star Race,” Smith said, “the current data surrounding the pandemic in North Carolina makes Bristol a better option for fan access this summer.”

No word has been announced on if the change is permanent but it appears that having fans at the track safely in the midst of the pandemic has driven this change to happen.

The $1 million prize for the All-Star Race remains for 2020. Winners in 2019 and 2020, past Cup champions and past All-Star Race winners will be eligible for the race, along with the three All-Star Open stage winners and the fan vote winner.

This means that the following drivers are eligible for the race:
Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Erik Jones, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr., and 2019 Coke Zero Sugar 400 winner Justin Haley.

The All-Star Race format is yet TBA, as well as the lap count for the All-Star Open. The NASCAR All-Star Open and Race will be broadcast on FS1 at 7 p.m. EST, with MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio doing the radio broadcasting.





Leave a Reply