Skip to content

Ross Chastain earns win No. 2 of 2022, moves to No. 4 playoff seed after Talladega

Photo: Jonny Olkowski

TALLADEGA, ALA. — Ross Chastain earned his second win of the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season in Sunday’s GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway.

The win earned Chastain five playoff points and moved him from the No. 6 seed before Talladega to the No. 4 seed afterward. Chastain is only the second multi-time winner this season.

William Byron is the other multi-time winner and he held onto the No. 1 seed after Talladega. He gained one playoff point by winning stage two and moved from fourth to third in the regular-season points, which puts him in position to earn one more playoff point.

Kyle Busch finished third and moved up to fourth in the regular-season points. He dropped back to the No. 6 seed after Talladega.

Bubba Wallace was the other stage winner, as he won stage one Sunday. Wallace is 49 points out of a playoff spot after 10 races.

The top 10 finishers were as follows: Ross Chastain, Austin Dillon, Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Martin Truex Jr., Erik Jones, Chase Elliott, Michael McDowell, Alex Bowman, Kevin Harvick.


Each win is worth five playoff points, each stage win is worth one playoff point.

The top 10 drivers in regular-season points each earn playoff points for their points position at the end of the regular season: 1st – 15 points, 2nd – 10, 3rd – 8, 4th – 7, 5th – 6, 6th – 5, 7th – 4, 8th – 3, 9th – 2, 10th – 1.

Presumpive playoff seeding after Race No. 10, the GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway:

DriverPlayoff Points TotalBase PointsPoints Position/PointsPoints for Race Wins (5 Pts/Win)Stage Wins (1 Pt/Win)
William Byron202120008 (3rd)10 (Atlanta and Martinsville)3 (Talladega – Stage 2, Atlanta – Stage 1, Phoenix – Stage 1
Chase Elliott2017200015 (1st)2 (Martinsville – Stages 1 & 2)
Ryan Blaney2013200010 (2nd)3 (Richmond – Stage 1, Atlanta – Stage 2, Phoenix – Stage 2)
Ross Chastain201320002 (9th)10 (COTA)1 (Las Vegas – Stage 2)
Alex Bowman201220006 (5th)5 (Las Vegas)1 (Las Vegas – Stage 1)
Kyle Busch201220007 (4th)5 (Bristol Dirt)
Kyle Larson201020004 (7th)5 (Auto Club)1 (Bristol Dirt)
Martin Truex Jr.200620003 (8th)3 (Daytona 500 –Stages 1 & 2, Richmond – Stage 2)
Chase Briscoe200620000 (12th)5 (Phoenix)1 (Bristol Dirt)
Denny Hamlin200620000 (24th)5 (Richmond)(COTA – Stage 2)
Joey Logano200520005 (6th)
Austin Cindric200520000 (16th)5 (Daytona 500)
Aric Almirola200120001 (10th)
Kevin Harvick200020000 (11th)
Austin Dillon200020000 (13th)
Christopher Bell200020000 (14th)

NASCAR Cup Series regular-season points standings after Race No. 10, the GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway:

  1. Chase Elliott 368 (+126 to Erik Jones for a playoff spot)
  2. Ryan Blaney 347 (-21 to Elliott; +105)
  3. William Byron 334 (2 wins)
  4. Kyle Busch 312 (1 win)
  5. Alex Bowman 309 (1 win)
  6. Joey Logano 308 (-60; +66)
  7. Kyle Larson 299 (1 win)
  8. Martin Truex Jr. 298 (+56)
  9. Ross Chastain 292 (2 wins)
  10. Aric Almirola 265 (+23)
  11. Kevin Harvick 252 (+10)
  12. Chase Briscoe 246 (1 win)
  13. Austin Dillon 245 (+3)
  14. Christopher Bell 243 (+1)
  15. Tyler Reddick 242 (-1 to Bell)
  16. Austin Cindric 238 (1 win)
  17. Erik Jones 231 (-12 to Bell for a playoff spot)
  18. Kurt Busch 218 (-25)
  19. Daniel Suarez 218 (-25)
  20. Chris Buescher 196 (-47)
  21. Bubba Wallace 193 (-50)

24. Denny Hamlin 178 (1 win)

29. Brad Keselowski 132* (-111)

30. Harrison Burton 130 (-113)

—-Must be Top 30 in points to be playoff-eligible with a win—-

31. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 128 (-2 to Burton to be playoff-eligible)

32. Cody Ware 88 (-42)

bold denotes driver virtually locked into the playoffs with a win
italics denotes driver currently not locked into the playoffs
* Brad Keselowski had a 100-point penalty after Atlanta. Without the penalty, Keselowski would be 17th in the regular-season points, with 232 points – 11 points behind Christopher Bell for a playoff spot.


Austin Cindric, Kyle Larson, Alex Bowman, Chase Briscoe, William Byron, Ross Chastain, Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch are virtually locked into the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs as each driver has won at least one race. Each driver must stay above 30th in points to get into the playoffs with a win.

Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, Martin Truex Jr., Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Aric Almirola, Austin Dillon and Christopher Bell are the non-winner drivers currently locked into the playoffs.

The next race for the NASCAR Cup Series is the May 1 Duramax Drydene 400 at Dover Motor Speedway (3 p.m. ET; TV: FS1; Radio: PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Ch.90).

Kyle Larson earned two playoff points for sweeping both stages but finished second to Alex Bowman, who earned five playoff points for getting the overall win in last year’s May NASCAR Cup Series race at Dover.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: