Skip to content

Big 3 lead field in playoff points

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Foxwoods Resort Casino 301
Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images

Kevin Harvick now leads all drivers in playoff points earned through the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series season with his victory in the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301.

Harvick, who moved Kyle Busch for the lead with seven laps to go at New Hampshire Sunday, earned five playoff points for the win. The 2014 series champion has 32 points overall, earning the points between his six victories and nine stage wins in 2018.

Kyle Busch has the second-most playoff points at 30, thanks to his five victories and five stage wins. Martin Truex Jr., who has won four races and six stages, has earned 26 playoff points, the third most.

Harvick said playoff points are what he and his team are focused on.

“A win is the way you get the most points,” he said. “To get five points… It’s a 10-point swing.”

Altogether, 16 drivers have earned playoff points throughout the regular season. The only other driver with double-digit playoff points is Clint Bowyer (10).

Kyle Busch continues to lead the competition in total stage points at 233. He has held the lead over the last 12 races.

Kevin Harvick has the second most at 204. Rounding out the top five on the list are Brad Keselowski (189), Martin Truex Jr. (166) and Kurt Busch (161).

Thirty drivers have earned at least one stage point in 2018. The only driver who has competed in every race this year but has yet to score a stage point is Matt DiBenedetto.

Chase Elliott’s victory in Stage 2 at New Hampshire bumped up the season total to 14 drivers who have won at least one stage in 2018.

Kevin Harvick has won the most stages at nine and Martin Truex Jr. has the second most at six.

Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski and Ryan Blaney round out the top five with five, four and four stage wins respectively.

With the exception of the Coca-Cola 600 in May (four stages), every points awarding race in 2018 is broken up into three stages.

Each of the first two stages awards points to the top-10 finishing drivers. A first-place finish earns 10 points, second-place gets nine points, and so forth.


1 Kyle Busch 233 5 30
2 Kevin Harvick 204 9 32
3 Brad Keselowski 189 4 4
4 Martin Truex Jr. 166 6 26
5 Kurt Busch 161 2 2
6 Ryan Blaney 156 4 4
7 Kyle Larson 151 1
8 Clint Bowyer 141 10
9 Joey Logano 129 2 7
10 Denny Hamlin 96 2 2
11 Chase Elliott 94 1 1
12 Aric Almirola 86 1 1
13 Jimmie Johnson 84
14 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 58 2 2
15 Paul Menard 42 1 1
16 Erik Jones 41 5
17 Michael McDowell 29
18 William Byron 27
19 Alex Bowman 27
20 Ryan Newman 27
21 A.J. Allmendinger 24 1 1
22 Daniel Suarez 20
23 Kasey Kahne 14
24 Jamie McMurray 13
25 Austin Dillon 12 5
26 Ty Dillon 11
27 Trevor Bayne 6
28 David Ragan 5
29 Darrell Wallace Jr. 5
30 Chris Buescher 4


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply