Skip to content

Bristol Dirt: Format, Start Times, Entries, Everything to Know

BRISTOL, TENN. — Rain washed out NASCAR Cup Series and Craftsman Truck Series on-track activity Friday, leaving everything to Saturday and Sunday.

Saturday features each series’ four 15-lap qualifying races. The Truck Series’ qualifying races begin at 4:30 p.m. ET, while the Cup Series’ races begin at 6 p.m. (TV: FS2, Radio: SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

A random draw set the qualifying races’ lineups. Then the qualifying races will determine the main event’s lineups, based on a driver’s passing points combined with points for where they finish.

Passing points are the difference between a driver’s starting spot and finishing spot.

If someone starts ninth and finishes fourth, they get five passing points and seven points for finishing fourth.

Finishing PositionPoints

The Truck Series races at 8 p.m. ET Saturday (TV: FS1, Radio: SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). Stage ends are at laps 40, 90 and 150, when the checkered flag will fly (barring overtime).

The NASCAR Cup Series races at 7 p.m. ET (TV: FOX, Radio: SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). Stage ends are at laps 75, 150 and 250, when the checkered flag will fly (barring overtime).

In each main event, points, 10-1, are awarded to the top-10 at the end of the first two stages and count toward the championship.

Notables in the NASCAR Cup Series include:

– Josh Berry in the No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
– Jonathan Davenport in the No. 13 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
– J.J. Yeley in the No. 15 Rick Ware Racing Ford
– B.J. McLeod in the No. 78 Team LiveFast Ford

Notables in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series field include:

  • Joey Logano in the No. 66 ThorSport Racing Toyota
  • William Byron in the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet
  • Chase Briscoe in the No. 22 AM Racing Ford
  • Jonathan Davenport in the No. 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
  • Tyler Carpenter in the No. 41 Niece Motorsports Chevrolet
  • Parker Kligerman in the no. 75 Henderson Motorsports Chevrolet
  • Norm Benning in his No. 6 Chevrolet
  • Stefan Parsons in the No. 20 Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet
  • Tanner Carrick in the No. 30 OnPoint Motorsports Toyota
  • Andrew Gordon in the No. 47 G2G Racing Toyota
  • Jessica Friesen in the No. 62 Halmar-Friesen Racing Toyota
  • Jerry Bohlman in the No. 46 G2G Racing Toyota

Leave a Reply