Skip to content

Joey Logano earns Pennzoil 400 pole; lineup + storylines

LAS VEGAS — For the second time at Las Vegas and 27th time in his Cup career, Joey Logano will start on the pole.

Logano earned the pole for Sunday’s Pennzoil 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, by 0.141 seconds over William Byron.

The defending Cup champion’s first Las Vegas pole was in March 2014. He led 44 laps and finished fourth after earning the pole.

Byron closed the 2022 season with 10 top-10 starts in the last 13 Cup races, including a third-place start at Las Vegas in October 2022.

Top 10: Joey Logano, William Byron, Ryan Blaney, Ty Gibbs (career-best), Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, Ross Chastain, Austin Cindric, Christopher Bell

Daytona 500 champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr qualified 16th.

Corey LaJoie qualified 19th after a strong run at Auto Club Speedway.

Josh Berry qualified 32nd, filling in for Chase Elliott in the No. 9 NAPA Chevrolet.

Berry ran 26 laps in practice and two in qualifying. They were the first laps the 5-time Xfinity winner ever ran in the Gen 7 car.

Tyler Reddick, Harrison Burton and BJ McLeod will start in the rear in 34th, 35th and 36th, respectively.

MORE: Harrison Burton joins McLeod, Reddick in the rear for Pennzoil 400

Full starting lineup for the Pennzoil 400:

One thought on “Joey Logano earns Pennzoil 400 pole; lineup + storylines Leave a comment

Leave a Reply