Skip to content

NASCAR Hall of Fame names 2024 class, Landmark Award winner

The NASCAR Hall of Fame named Chad Knaus, Jimmie Johnson and Donnie Allison to its 2024 class. Janet Guthrie is their Landmark Award winner.

This is the first time the Hall nominated Knaus, Johnson and Allison.

CONCORD, NC – MAY 24: Jimmie Johnson (L), driver of the #48 Lowe’s Patriotic Chevrolet, and crew chief Chad Knaus (R) walk in the garage during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 24, 2012 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Jamey Price/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Chad Knaus and Jimmie Johnson won 81 Cup Series races and a record-tying seven championships from 2002-18. Those seven titles including five-straight from 2006-10.

There were eight other Modern Ballot nominees. They are Neil Bonnett, Tim Brewer, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, Larry Phillips and Ricky Rudd.

TALLADEGA, AL – OCTOBER 22: Former NASCAR driver Donnie Allison walks in the garage area during qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Good Sam Club 500 at Talladega Superspeedway on October 22, 2011 in Talladega, Alabama. (Photo by Jason Smith/Getty Images)

Donnie Allison won the 1967 Cup Series Rookie of the Year honors and was a part of the famed Alabama Gang. He the 1979 Daytona finish.

There were four other Pioneer Ballot nominees: Sam Ard, AJ Foyt, Banjo Matthews and Ralph Moody.

DAYTONA BEACH, FL – FEBRUARY 17, 1980: Janet Guthrie’s second and final appearance in the Daytona 500 came in 1980 when she finished 11th in the Rod Osterlund Chevrolet. She was later in the year inducted into the Women’s Sports Hall of Fame. (Photo by ISC Archives via Getty Images)

The Hall is honoring Janet Guthrie for her significant contributions to NASCAR’s growth and esteem. Guthrie was the first woman to compete in a NASCAR Cup Series superspeedway race. She also inspired other women to get into racing in the coming decades as she also competed in open wheel racing.

Other nominees were Les Richter, Alvin Hawkins, Lesa France Kennedy and Dr. Joseph Mattioli.

A ceremony will honor Guthrie, Knaus, Allison and Johnson, Jan. 19, 2024 at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte.


Leave a Reply