Skip to content

Sprint car roundup: Schatz, Dietrich win; Cisney takes wild finish at Port Royal

From left to right: Tony Stewart, Danny Dietrich, and Dale Blaney pose after their podium efforts in the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All-Star Circuit of Champions feature Saturday night at Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, New York. Photo courtesy of the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet ASCoC Twitter.

Danny Dietrich bagged his nation-leading 11th win of the season Saturday night, topping Dale Blaney and Tony Stewart by 4.285 seconds to take the checkered flag in the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All-Star Circuit of Champions at Orange County Fair Speedway.

It’s Dietrich’s third touring series victory of the season and his second in the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet ASCoC in 2019.

Points leader Aaron Reutzel and Justin Barger were the top five. Greg Wilson, Paul McMahan, Brock Zearfoss, Chad Kemenah, and Justin Peck rounded out the top 10. Cory Eliason finished 14th. Barger, Blaney, and Dietrich won the heat races.

Moody gets win No. 1 at Lincoln

Kyle Moody used a slide job to go from fifth to first in the opening two laps and staved off a bevy of restarts to get win No. 1 of 2019 by 1.629 seconds at the Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Brandon Rahmer and Alan Krimes finished on the podium.

Chad Trout (started 16th) and Tim Glatfelter rounded out the top five. Landon Myers, Jimmy Siegel, Glendon Forsythe, Jessie Attard, and Brett Michalski were the top 10. Brian Montieth finished three laps down in 15th. Freddie Rahmer, a seven-time winner in 2019, finished 21st, crashing out on Lap 2 of the 25-lap feature.

Jeff Halligan, Jessie Attard, Brett Michalski won the heats.

Schatz outduels Gravel and Sweet for WoO win No. 4

After Brad Sweet won seven of the last 11 NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws features, Donny Schatz responded Saturday night with his fourth win of the season and first since May 10 at Wilmot Raceway with a 1.320-second victory over David Gravel.

Sweet, Daryn Pittman and Tim Kaeding rounded out the top five. Carson Macedo, Sheldon Haudenschild, Logan Schuchart, Ian Madsen, and Brent Marks were the top 10. James McFadden finished 11th in Kasey Kahne’s No. 9.

Sweet, Schatz, and Gravel won the heat races. Sweet exits the weekend with a 38-point lead over Schatz in the points chase.

Cisney wins wild race at Port Royal

Dylan Cisney recovered from a near last-lap mishap to win his third feature of the season by 0.653 seconds over Logan Wagner and Mike Wagner at Port Royal Speedway.

Anthony Macri, who took the lead going into Turn 3 on the final lap before wrecking into the inside wall before the checked flag, was credited with fourth and TJ Stutts came fifth. Lucas Wolfe, AJ Flick, Steve Buckwalter, Dan Shetler, and Rick Lafferty rounded out the top 10.

Buckwalter, Flick, and Trenton Sheaffer won the heats.



Leave a Reply